The Phoenix Mission~A First Look Inside…

l. sydney fisher (1)

An Introduction with Acknowledgements

During the 1990’s, the United States Army trained special agents believed to hold extraordinary supernatural abilities.  The secret program known as Stargate used a method of psychic spying or remote viewing to see beyond normal human ability.  Remote viewing is a term coined by the military, but is otherwise known as clairvoyance.  Although this program was shut down in November, 1995 after a CIA investigation deemed it non-contributory to the military, I believe the project was worth the research, but our probability of harnessing the power behind telekinesis was too far into the future for our current understanding.

A couple of years ago, I stumbled across a book by Major Ed Dames and Joel Harry Newman titled Tell Me What You See.    The book was Dames’ personal account as an operations and training officer for the Defense Intelligence Agency’s Psychic Intelligence Unit.  Within seconds of thumbing through the pages, I found myself hooked.  Suddenly years of my own curiosities and personal experiences were validated, and I became totally consumed with learning all about the military’s interest in Parapsychology, the same subject that I had spent my entire life researching while struggling to convince myself that my own psychic experiences were definitely real and not the result of an overactive imagination.  My fascination with Stargate prompted a year’s worth of investigations.  I studied numerous articles and books related to the Army’s remote viewing program, telekinesis, telepathy, and clairvoyance.  And I have included a suggested reading list, a few of my favorites, at the end of this book for those of you who want to explore the subject.

During the months that followed Seth Phoenix’s transformation from the creative recesses of my mind to the pages that follow, I sought the help of military personnel and soldiers willing to give me an interview and a look inside their world.  And it is with deep appreciation that I acknowledge and thank these individuals.

To Deputy Joshua Hood, former Sergeant in the U. S. Army 82nd Airborne and author of the Mason Kane series and debut novel, Clear by Fire (Simon and Schuster)…thank you for sharing your knowledge and giving me your time.  During the months that followed, you were always “just a phone call away” if I needed your help.  I will always appreciate your friendship and admire your undeniable talent as an author.

To Ret. Command Sergeant Major Ronald V. Coleman, your leadership and knowledge was invaluable to my research and proved to be the key I needed in Seth Phoenix’s creation.  I offer my sincerest gratitude.

To Lieutenant Colonel, Kelly Mims, U. S. Army Reserve who has probably already forgotten about this project…thank you for giving me your time and knowledge all those months ago when I first began building the outline and foundation for The Phoenix Mission.  I sincerely appreciate your willingness to help me during my times of research and writing.

To you, I hope that you enjoy The Phoenix Mission.  Within these pages, you will find historical fiction traced with a little science fiction and a dose of reality.  You choose what’s real and what isn’t as you meet some of the characters who actually lived during the Stargate Program’s operation.  Just remember, in the end and under direct orders of the CIA…this never happened.

11 thoughts on “The Phoenix Mission~A First Look Inside…

  1. Hello! Thank you and welcome! I am glad that you like my posts…Other websites or forums? There are a couple that I follow on Google, but they are mainly for paranormal authors. I typically google the paranormal from time to time when I am searching for something in particular. Check out my website: http://www.LSydneyFisher.com. I’ve got some cool projects pending for publication late summer!

    Like

  2. First of all I want to say superb blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.

    I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your thoughts prior to writing.
    I have had a hard time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out.
    I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first
    10 to 15 minutes tend to be lost simply just trying to figure out how to
    begin. Any suggestions or hints? Kudos!

    Like

    1. Hi! Thanks so much for your comments. That’s a great question. How do I center myself before writing? You are right. It does take lots of focus. I like to have a cup of coffee nearby and also my research notebook where I keep lots of articles and information pertaining to the story that I am working on. Most of the time when I am preparing to begin work, I will re-read over the previous chapter and take a few moments to digest what’s happening. The words usually come at that point…

      Like

  3. My brother recommended I would possibly like this
    website. He was entirely right. This publish truly made my day.
    You can not consider just how a lot time I had spent for this info!
    Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

